Vmware and Kernel Compilation Problem

Today virtualization is the buzzing word that is making the world spin[:-)]. Everyone is talking about virtualization solutions, since it offer better resource utilization. There are many virtualization software available in market, but my personal favourite is VMware.

Recently I upgrade my host system’s Linux kernel and after upgrading when I tried to open VMware, it throws error that it need to compile the kernel. I allowed VMware to compile the kernel but it was a failed attempt.

After searching I found that VMware version 8.0.2 have some problem with latest kernel, so I need to patch the kernel. So here is a link that have a patch attached. If you are also facing the same issue then apply the patch and let me know if there is any other issue.

About bijolianabhi

Graduate from Engineering College Bikaner, India in 2010 and working as Open Source activist. I love programming and implementing interesting ideas. I have interest in Mozilla Firefox extension development. I am currently learning basics of python to develop some interesting applications.
This entry was posted in Tech Updates, Troubleshooting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vmware and Kernel Compilation Problem

  1. Pingback: How a 9-Year-Old Entrepreneur’s Business Went Viral - The Society – Entrepreneurs Epicentre

Leave a Reply

