Fedora 16 and gnome

Recently I upgraded Fedora 15 to Fedora 16. Everything was going great while upgrade process. But after finishing upgrade when I tried to login with gnome, I got error message. And login will fail with the “Oh no! Something has gone wrong” error screen that GNOME pops up if a component is crashing repeatedly.

After spending some time on Google, I found that it’s a known issue with Fedora 16 and gnome. I found solution for the issue on http://fedoraproject.org. As mention on the page:

The issue is caused by gnome-settings-daemon crashing when it encounters a color profile with an incorrect SELinux context: the correct context for color profiles changed between Fedora 15 and Fedora 16, but the upgrade process does not re-label existing profiles.

To resolve the issue, boot to a different desktop or to a console and run the command su -c 'chcon -R -t icc_data_home_t ~/.local/share/icc'. After doing this, GNOME login should work correctly.

 

Hope this will save your time.

About bijolianabhi

Graduate from Engineering College Bikaner, India in 2010 and working as Open Source activist. I love programming and implementing interesting ideas. I have interest in Mozilla Firefox extension development. I am currently learning basics of python to develop some interesting applications.
This entry was posted in FOSS/GNU, General, Tech Updates, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fedora 16 and gnome

  1. Francisco Tavares says:

    Hi ABhinav Chittora. I’m grateful for this post. I also installed F16 and the same happened to me with gnome desktop.
    I tried to resolve the issue as you say, however I couldn’t be successful, as you can see.

    [fst@fst-toshiba-l300 ~]$ su -c ‘chcon -R -t icc_data_home_t ~/.local/share/icc’
    Password:
    chcon: cannot access `/root/.local/share/icc’: No such file or directory
    [fst@fst-toshiba-l300 ~]$

    Have you any hint to overcome this situation?
    Thanks for the attention.

    Francisco Tavares

    • bijolianabhi says:

      Dear Frank,

      This problem is related to upgrade from F15 to F16. But in case if you did a fresh installation of F16, then I would like to discuss the issue to resolve the problem. You can ping me at bijolianabhi[at]gmail[dot]com.

      Thanks,
      Abhinav Chittora

  2. Annon says:

    Hello,

    As this is a known bug in gnome-setting-daemon, so I would suggest to install updates, if you are facing the same issue.

    For installing updates, switch to terminal mode and run following command:
    su -c 'yum cleanall; yum update -y'

    I would like to know if the problem remains after updating the system.
    Thanks,

  3. Francisco Tavares says:

    Annon,

    Thanks for the hint. I executed what you have proposed, but the problem remains. I’m grateful for the attention.
    Best regards

    • bijolianabhi says:

      Dear,
      I would like to know whether you have some content before the first boot in your home directory, or your home directory was empty? Try to create a new user and try login with that. Let me know if the gnome-setting-daemon still crashes.

      Thanks

      • Francisco Tavares says:

        Dear,
        I add a new user and gnome-setting-daemon goes fine. It worked. Thanks very much.
        However sign in screen is movable and not centred. I must move it with the mouse to enter the password. The font (of the sign in screen) is bigger than the normal. And the message error “Oh no! Some thing has gone wrong. A problem has occurred and the system can’t recover. Please contact a system administrator” is under the sign in screen.

        Thanks
        frank tavares

  4. Deangelo Helmig says:

    Wow! Thank you! I permanently needed to write on my blog something like that. Can I include a portion of your post to my blog?

  5. Google Drive says:

    It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have learn this publish and if I may just I wish to recommend you some interesting issues or advice. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I want to learn even more issues approximately it!

Leave a Reply

